Coxcombs and Berries in THE QUILTER (December 2011/January 2012)

The traditional Coxcomb patterns date back to the 1860’s.  I was able to locate online one made in 1853 by Elizabeth E. Stark of Kansas.  You will notice that Mrs. Stark’s quilt is made in the red/green, not uncommon from that period in history.

I used fabrics from Henry Glass‘ Love-Joy-Peace-Noel collection to make  a playful Christmas version of this traditional pattern.  Navy is introduced into the traditional red/green mix.  The quilt is featured in The Quilter‘s December 2011/Jauary 2012 issue.


Some dense quilting (feathers, McTavishing) is thrown into the mix too!  Quilting is done unmarked and free-handed, using Aurifil Mako 50 Cotton threads over Hobbs Tuscany Silk Batt.


This is how the back looks.  The editorial staff at THE QUILTER kindly included a full shot of the quilt back in the magazine spread.


Applique was done using the machine fusible method.  I used Steam-A-Seam2 by Warm Company.


Buttons and a yoyo contributed to the playful elements of this quilt:


I was very happy at how this quilt turned out.  It is one of my all-time favorites.  You will understand why I will be using it only for display and not at the table, won’t you? :)  Thanks so much for stopping by.  Christmas cheer to all of you!

51 thoughts on “Coxcombs and Berries in THE QUILTER (December 2011/January 2012)

  1. Oh, good… it finally worked this time! Hi Wendy!
    As for the quilt? Sigh…
    Another beauty! The quilting is superb, as always.
    And I also noticed in the magazine article “that Wendy has never entered a quilt show.” Really? You should!!!
    Christmas Blessings to you…

  2. OHH…it´s great………..the colours the quilting it´s all so great.Thanks for sharing it with us.It certainly can´t be used in any way…….it seems to MEway too PRECIOUS.
    GREAT JOB DONE.
    Quiltyhugs from Spain

  3. It’s just gorgeous. I saw this in the magazine and it’s beautiful. Your quilting just makes a person’s heart sing!
    I love these fabrics too and I would only use it for display myself:)

    Blessings,
    Sue

  4. I really love what you have done to this piece….and especially to the quilting and the stunning back portion of the quilt…I wish I have that talent and patience to do something like that….

  5. Your quilt is amazing! I love the fabrics and the hand quilting is exceptional! The buttons are a great embellishment and your buttonhole stitch is perfection!
    Thanks so much for sharing this quilt!

  6. Oh my gosh is that cute! I love the buttons ! You made it beautiful and playful.
    Then we can discuss the back. How in the world do you do such beautiful free
    hand work. It is gorgeous! I truly love it!

  7. So beautiful. The quilting is as always inspiring! I think those buttons were a stroke of genius to update this block! One of those things that surprises me when I see it, love how much it makes sense & then wish I was creative like that! Well done.

  8. What a gorgeous work of art. Truly, I just want to sit and stare at it. If I was in the same room with this quilt, I would run my hands over each and every stitch line…and then I’d hang it for display. It’s too pretty to use! :) Beautiful…stunningly beautiful. Thanks so much for sharing. Happy Saturday, sweet friend! :)

  9. The quilt is just “beautiful!” You did a fantastic job…where do you find the time to do all that you do?? Awesome!

  10. words can’t describe this quilt. I don’t know how you get sooo much done….
    and your quilt and quilting is just to die for……

  11. One word…. Breathtaking!

    I found your blog from SewCalGal as she is hosting the 2012 FMQ Challenge and you were listed as one of the wonderful FMQ Experts! I am signed up and so ready for January 2012 to arrive. I can’t wait too see what you have up your sleeve. Thank you for all you do. Kim

  12. A stunning quilt! You have added so many little details that have really enhanced the look of this quilt. So nice that they included a picture of the back. Wow!

  13. Catching up on your posts… eye-popping quilting is what I’m seeing here. Awesome. Simply awesome is all I can say. If it’s possible for you to improve, you are! This is amazing.

    It’s lovely to know you had a good Thanksgiving and that picture of Miss Baby and her cousin is precious. Now don’t stress out about gift-making and giving, sewing/smocking new clothes, and such. Instead, as I know you will do, take in the beauty of this blessed season and enjoy.

  14. Love this quilt. Especially the buttons.

    I love how you took the block and made your own design. Maybe if I would quit looking at blogs and design quilts, I could make my own designs instead of everyone elses. lol

    There are just too many beautiful quilts out there that I want to make.

  15. hi Wendy, just opened my emails of the last 3 days and and saw your AWSOME creation, soooo beautiful, you are an inspiration to us all, warm regards, Petronella

  16. Hi Wendy, I hope all is well with you and family. ;-) It has been a long time since you last posted. I love your quilt. I love all of your beautiful quilting. ;-) Happy Holidays and a happy and healthy 2012. with bee-hugs, Debby

Leave a Reply

