Blissful in the Clouds in House of White Birches’ LOG CABINS TODAY


Blissful in the Clouds is my quilt featured in Log Cabins Today that is child-themed.


The quilt design utilizes square and rectangular log cabin blocks to construct the kites that are flying high in the clouds! I used multi-colored ric rac for the kite tails.


Quilting was not fancy. I didn’t want the light-hearted mood of the quilt to be stifled by dense quilting. Can you see the clouds, and the “airflow” (aka wind) that is lifting up the kites in this quilt?


Fabrics are a mix of Flower Power, Handspray, and Shasta collections, all by RJR. Thread is Aurifil Mako 50 Cotton, and batting is Hobbs Tuscany Silk.


I hope you have enjoyed Blissful in the Clouds. Come back tomorrow for the last of my featured Log Cabin projects in Log Cabins Today. You will also get a chance to vote for your favorite! Ciao for now.

24 thoughts on “Blissful in the Clouds in House of White Birches’ LOG CABINS TODAY

  1. Really, really pretty, Wendy! What a clever design and beautiful interpretation of log cabins. You know, the log cabin block is my least favorite of all quilt blocks – I’ve never even made one. But I’ll admit that yours makes me like it. Lovely workmanship too.

  2. I love all the colours you’ve chosen to work with in all the quilts you have shown us. You must have a beautiful fabric stash both to work with and just sit and look at all folded up. For someone who has really only recently started quilted you are one talented lady and thank you for sharing your love with us.

  3. I love your quilting on this ever so popular block which btw is my all time fav block ever! I think I have used this (tradition) block in maybe 4-5 quilts myself. Thank you for sharing your work. You have inspired me in so many ways. Today I posted a queen quilt I fmq’ed myself, because you gave me the confidence I can really do this. Thank you one again!

  4. What a cute baby quilt. What is not to like about this. Quilting, colors and interperation of log cabin. What a winner!

  5. Such a lovely and lifting quilts ! The ric rac was just the right touch for the tails. Love the soft quilting and the air waves. You’re tempting me again to buy this book :-)

  6. your quilts are so inpiring.. Makes me want to run out and buy that book…

    see ya later,,,,I am going to run out and buy this book……LOL

    hugs

  7. I just love all these Log Cabin Quilts–this one is just so cute and I love the quilting clouds,etc. Someday I might try to do this one for 2 of my grandchildren. Where might I get this pattern? Love the colors,too. Thank you for sharing.

  8. I absolutely aDORE this one! And I love how the swirls in the background fabric inspired your quilting, and the rick-rack tails are just charming! But the little bows are the cat’s meow and the colors are so cheery!!

  9. Hi Wendy~
    This is an adorable quilt! Hope all is well with you and your family. You seem busier and busier every time I check your blog. Have you had any time to cross stitch lately?
    Susan

  10. Pingback: Pumpkin Patch Table Runner in House of White Birches’ LOG CABINS TODAY « Ivory Spring

  11. Pingback: Year in Review #4: House of White Birches « Ivory Spring

  12. Pingback: Blissful in the Clouds in QUILTER’s WORLD Inspiration for Precuts (Spring 2012) « Ivory Spring

Leave a Reply

