Thread Talk from my Sewing Machine #22

Following-the-line-quilting (free-motion, and not walking foot) mainly comprises of quilting according to a set design, be it custom or from a stencil.  This technique is actually more difficult than one would think.  Though “on the spot” design maneuver is not necessary as in the case of unmarked quilting, precision is important in following-the-the-line quilting.  And that means skill is required to move your quilt sandwich just  right to navigate a curl, a curve or whatever is on the design.


Here are a few tips for you that have worked for me:

1.  Stitch slow.  Normally a marked motif is meant to stand out, and so the less snags and jerks in the stitches the better the quilting looks.  Stitching slowly helps me see where I am going next better, and reduce the chance of the snags and jerks, thus improving the overall stitch quality.


2.  I also like to know how I would stitch the marked motif from start to finish prior to stitch, even if I have to take out the pencil and paper and experiment the best way to tackle the motif — much like how I would map out ahead of time how to drive to and back from a place.


3.  Don’t be afraid to use the seam ripper when you don’t think you have put forth your best foot in stitching the motif.  Take out the stitches and try again!  Trust me, I am speaking from experience! :)


4.  Use good quality threads – you’ve got to see for yourself the difference threads make on your stitches if you haven’t already!


I hope these help!   Have a great weekend, Friends.  I will catch up with you Monday

18 thoughts on “Thread Talk from my Sewing Machine #22

  1. Thanks so much for sharing!!! I’m having a hard time with my quilting and I am about ready to pull my hair out!!! Your comments have given me great ideas and I plan on using your comments to help me. I just wish I was closer so I could see you in action!!!

  2. Thanks for sharing your expertise. Do you have any tricks or suggestions for handling the bulk of the quilt when it’s under the throat. I end up fighting with it and find moving the top very difficult.

  3. Awesome! I discovered that marked motifs are really more difficult than regular free motion. But if you can get it right, it sure is worth it. :-) Your quilting is always an inspiration.

  4. Your quilting is so beautiful Wendy, I especially love the Christmas quilt. Good Tips! I too love the variable speed control on my machine so I can slow the speed down to a manageable speed.

  5. I have just discovered your blog and love, love, love it. You are so very generous with your experience and expertise. I have been FMQing for many years but find there new things to learn every day. Keep up the good work. Jackie

Leave a Reply

