Quilt Scrabble Throw in QUILTER’S WORLD (August 2011)

Hello Friends! Here it is — my Scrabble quilt is officially featured in the latest (August 2011) issue of Quilter’s World!


The fabrics are from Quilting Treasures‘ Hasbro Scrabble Collection. Many of you wrote to ask where you can purchase the fabrics. I don’t know of any specific stores. The best I can tell you is to do a search on www.quiltshops.com and see what turns up.


This truly was a fun quilt to make as I set out to include different quilty words in the quilt. Though the word rules of the real game are broken to accommodate those words, the quilt top does have the same layout as the real Scrabble board in that all the double and triple letter and word tiles are where they are supposed to be in the layout of the quilt top (denoted by the colored squares).


These itty bitty 1/2″ wide sashing strips (my recent quilty obsession) found their way in this quilt. I thought the striped sashing turned out beautifully! You can see in between the two striped sashing are the “players trays”.


I would hate to be the player landed with this tray.


Did you notice this winning “quilty” tray – EQ Seven?! ;)


As you have probably guessed, quilting was done using Aurifil Mako 50 thread over silk batting by Hobbs. In order to give some contrast to the ordered layout of squares, I quilted circles in a random fashion all over the quilt using my “marking, but not really” method.


I remember wanting to make a quilt that didn’t scream “beginner” when I first started quilting. Oftentimes I keep that thought in mind as I set out to design a quilt. This Quilt Scrabble Throw design definitely fits that mold! No scary triangles for the beginning quilters – just squares and strips! And yet the result is a super fun and cool looking quilt with lots of possibilities for
personalizing the way you want it. If you are making this quilt or variations of it, I would dearly love to see it. Send me pictures, please!


Here are some ideas for personalization besides your own version of the quilty Scrabble quilt:

1. Names of those who attend a family reunion to commemorate a special family event

2. Names of your children and grandchildren on a quilt to grace the front entryway of your house

3. Places you have visited for a travel quilt

4. Christmas (or any holiday)-related words for a seasonal Scrabble display

5. A toddler’s favorite or funny words to commemorate a child’s growing up years

6. Names of your quilt guild friends to commemorate quilty friendships

7. Names of students for a teacher’s gift

8. Favorite foods in your family for a kitchen Scrabble display

9. The character qualities of a special friend in a quilt to celebrate what the particular friend means to you.

10. Words related to a hobby (fishing, cooking etc) as a birthday gift for someone

… and the list goes on!


I am going to end my post here before my brain gets stuck on thinking about more personalization ideas for the rest of the day! Now I really need to get back to work. I will let your brain go to work on the other ideas and possibilities! ;) Thanks for stopping by.

44 thoughts on “Quilt Scrabble Throw in QUILTER’S WORLD (August 2011)

  1. What a fun quilt and with so many possibilities. Thanks for sharing and congratulations for making it into Quilter’s World:-)

  2. What a fabulously fun quilt! Mr. Q.O. would love it — as he’s a real scrabble fan! Think I’ll have to keep my eye out for the letter fabric!

  3. Love this one! Another for the must make list–my late mother was a big Scrabble fan and we always played together. And since you are able to show this now, it also means my digital issue should be available soon—bonus!!

  4. I really want to make this quilt, but can not find all of the fabric for it. I still need the coordinating stripe and the ecru wood grain fabric.

  5. Wendy,
    Thanks so much for your great Scrabble pattern. The minute I saw it I knew I wanted to make it for my daughter going off to college this fall who loves a good game of Scrabble. She is going to design word layout and I will do the rest! I couldn’t think of a better gift to send her on her way. Thanks again.

    • Hi Catherine: did you make the scrabble quilt for your daughter? I have made this quilt a few yrs ago. I want to make it again, however i am getting frustrated re cutting the letters out. My first scrabble quilt left some blue actually showing on the quilt from the letters. This time i do not want the blue showing. What size did you cut the letters? I have tried 3 x 3 and one edge of the blue is slightly bigger than a 1/4 of an inch. Can you assist? Thanks Maxine

    • Lois–I just found the ecru/beige wood grain fabric at Quilters Round-up online but called them at 888-936-2374. The gal said they had only about 6-7 yards left. This has been very difficult to find…had to order from three different placed to get it all. What a pain!! but should be worth it.

      • I called that number but they were out of the wood grain as well. Do you remember the other 3 places you found it? Thanks.

  6. Pingback: Catherine’s Scrabble Quilt « Ivory Spring

  7. I cut out the 3 x 3 letters but when I sewed the others 3 x 3 together (not showing the blue on the letter sqs) the row become way too short. When I sewed the 3 x3 to other 3 x 3 with a 1/4inch seam then the blue border show on the right side of quilt. I have continued and some have a bit of blue showing some don’t. Mess!!!!!

  8. Pingback: Year in Review #2: Quilter’s World « Ivory Spring

  9. A friend made with quilt using word that pertained to the person she made it for. It is an amazing quilt to see completed. I hope to make myself one soon as Scrabble is my favorite game!

    • Hi: did you make the scrabble quilt? What size did you cut the letters? When i cut 3 x 3 once sewn the blue shows and looks messy. I want to make a 2nd scrabble quilt WITHOUT the blue showing. Hope you can nelp.
      Thanks
      Maxine

  10. Pingback: Scrabble Quilt « Marla's Art Page Blog

  11. Pingback: Interactive Quilt | quiltedmornings

  12. Pingback: Christmas 2012 ~ LOTS of pictures! « Musings from Amphitrite

  13. Pingback: Separated at birth… QUILTS | Ivory Spring

  14. does anyone have any extra letters they are willing to part with. Im short the letter D for the quilt I’m making for my grandma.

  15. This is AMAZING!!! Where did you get the Scrabble individual large letter tiles? I cannot seem to find them. Any assistance would be appreciated!

  16. on second thought, wondering if the individual letters were cut out of the blue/teal fabric with the letter tiles on it. I envisioned the letters larger but perhaps not. Thanks for the help!

  17. I have made one scrabble quilt and when I cut the letters out I still have the blue showing and it looks so odd.
    Why?

Leave a Reply

