Dancing Daffodils in Quilter’s World’s FRESH CUT QUILTS FROM THE GARDEN (Spring 2011)


My Dancing Daffodil quilt made cover quilt for Quilter’s World’s Special Interest Publication for Spring 2011! YAY, yay, yay!


I received the quilt back from the editor, together with my complimentary copies!! So now I can show you some close-ups. I had told you a few weeks ago this quilt comes with a story. So here goes…

It was late September I received a phone call from Quilter’s World editor about working on Dancing Daffodil for a feature in Quilter’s World Spring Special Interest publication. I hesitated to say yes because I already had a whole host of projects that I needed to complete by mid-October. The Dancing Daffodil quilt was due around the same time. So, I told the editor I would have to think about accepting the assignment.


And think about it I did. I remembered staying up at night thinking about it. I called the editor back first thing the following Monday and told her “YES!”.


Then, it was time to work on the quilt. The blocks weren’t difficult to piece: they were made of squares and half-square-triangles, and VERY many of them! Just the quilt center has a total of 720 patches! So, you can imagine the amount of time just constructing those blocks!


As a result, this quilt was affectionately dubbed the “killer quilt”. I remember showing the finished top to my Melinda and my brother when they came to visit, and noted to them how heavy the quilt top was because of all the fabrics. I was able to get the quilt completed in about four days, and Melinda actually babysat Miss Baby while I raced to the post office to mail it off!

Though simple in construction and block layout, the way the blocks were oriented made a nice asymmetrical overall appearance for the quilt background on which I appliqued the daffodils! I love the effect.


Quilting was an overall swirly quilting that I quilted even on the daffodils, giving my daffodils petals some texture. I used Aurifil Mako 50 cotton thread for quilting, and Hobbs Tuscany Silk for batting. Fabrics are RJR‘s Anything but the Kitchen Sink and Pindots.


I was told about Dancing Daffodils making cover quilt earlier this year, and I was beside myself! Since then I had been dying to see how it was photographed for the cover, and I have to say… more than pleased can’t even begin to describe my sense of satisfaction seeing the result. It’s FANTA-BULUOS! The bicycle, the mixed flowers — they made the presentation of the quilt!


If you haven’t browse through this particular publication, you need to! The editorial staff did a great job presenting different quilt projects. What I really liked about it is that they categorizrs the featured Fresh Cut Garden Quilts into categories like: Formal Garden, Wildflower Mix, Bud Vases etc. I am so glad I accepted the assignment when I did, or I wouldn’t have been able to share my Dancing Daffodils quilt with my quilting friends!


That’s all the time I have to post today. I need to get dinner ready – it’s spaghetti tonight. Thanks for stopping by. Have a great week ahead!

36 thoughts on “Dancing Daffodils in Quilter’s World’s FRESH CUT QUILTS FROM THE GARDEN (Spring 2011)

  1. Congratulations! What an honor for you! You did an amazing job on the quilt, but I truly expect nothing less from all your time, love & devotion you put into each quilt you make!!!! I’m really happy for you!!!

  2. Congratulations Wendy. How exciting for you. The quilt is just gorgeous. Gosh, it seems everytime I come to your blog you are showing another of your quilts in yet another magazine. Your work is obviously VERY good. Keep up the good work.

    And as a side note: I was finally able to locate “The Quilter” with your beautiful “Ring of Flowers” quilt in it.

  3. This is a fantastic quilt. Great job as usual, I love your work and the quilting is outstanding.
    When you receive this assignment did you have to cut out all the squares and triangles too? Great work I bet they sell lots of magazines. Hugs

  4. We’ll have to give you a new name–“Cover Girl”. Look at all the covers you’re on! Every quilt you make deserves to be on the cover; they’re all fantastically gorgeous. It’s no wonder that your daffodils dance! Congratulations!

  5. Comgratulations! The quilt is awesome….I love the pattern and the daffodils. The editors made a good choice choosing you and your quilt.

  6. Congrats on the cover! Beautiful quilt, and this is one I’d love to attempt, as it reminds me of my kitchen.. and I love the whole daffodil thing, especially for this spring season with daffodils in full bloom here in NWA. I’m going out tomorrow morning to buy Quilter’s World!

  7. It’s a fabulous quilt, Wendy! Once again, your work takes my breath away. I also have questions, like… When you’re asked to make something, does the editor tell you what they want? Or do you have to wham-bam think of something quickly? Do you buy Hobbs Tuscany Silk by the case?!

  8. Hi Wendy,

    Congratulations!!! It’s a beautiful quilt. I can’t imagine being able to finish a quilt in four days. That is amazing!! Thank you or sharing the pictures and the story.

    Didi

  9. YOU ARE ON COVER!!!!! :) I do remember you quilt-marathon last year!! I’m so glad that you’ve not only managed to pull it through, YOU’VE shown excellence results!! I’m SO PROUD of you!

  10. Lovely blues in that quilt. Usually by the time you show a quilt that is in a magazine I have seen the magazine but I guess it has not made it here yet. I will have to look for that one. Nice job.

  11. How lovely, Wendy! :) Congrats on the cover. It’s a beautiful setting to showcase your gorgeous quilt.

    PS…The mag came in the mail this weekend. Thanks! I can’t wait to dig into it and read your article. The sun is shining here, so this afternoon should be a perfect time to jump onto the hammock and relax while reading. :) Thanks for sending it! Happy Monday! :)

  12. That is the GREATEST thing in the world!
    The quilt is absolutely refreshing an relaxing to look at . . . it would be so fun to have along at a Spring picnic . . . will be out looking for this magazine TO CELEBRATE YOU, today!

  13. Hi Wendy,

    I must say I agree with all the comments. I love this quilt. It so nice to see. With the weather a little yucky, and Spring just around the corner. This quilt gives inspiration and hope!

    Congrats on the cover! I think they did a good job of presenting, too. Looking forward to more of your quilts! maryv

  14. Wendy, Daffoldils are the flowers of MY month, March ! it’s nice to go through the poem “Daffodils” by William Wordsworth and learning about dancing daffoldils:

    “I wondered lonely as a cloud
    thats floats on high o’ver vales and hills
    When all at once I saw a crowd
    a host, of golden daffodils;
    Beside the lake, beneath the trees
    Flattering and dancing in the breeze.”

    a first part of this poem that I love and celebrate this lovely quilt!!!
    ciao, gloria

  15. I purchased the Quilter”s World magazine last week because of the cover quilt – love, love, love the quilt and have already started collecting the fabric to make. I was so surprised this morning to find it was designed by you. Love your blog and love your quilts.

  16. Love you and your quilting Wendy. I knew this was my cover quilt the moment I saw it and I knew how I wanted to have it photographed. Thank you for your talented quilting!

    Missing working with you.
    Cheers, Elisa

  17. Congrats Cover Girl…quilt and your work is gorgeous as usual. Will be out looking for a copy of the mag.

  18. Pingback: Thread Talk from My Sewing Machine #18 « Ivory Spring

  19. Pingback: Year in Review #2: Quilter’s World « Ivory Spring

  20. Pingback: Accuquilt Blogger Spotlight: Tango with HST’s « Ivory Spring

Leave a Reply

