Holiday Spinners in THE QUILTER’S HOLIDAY ISSUE

I have a second quilt featured in The Quilter‘s Quilting for Christmas issue — my Holiday Spinners!


This was a fun fun quilt to make because I liked the fabrics very much. Oh, look at the poinsettias on the fabrics – shocker! ;) (Click here to see my other Poinsettia quilt featured in the same magazine). These fabrics are from Benartex’s Noel collection. If you like black accents in your Christmas decorations, you’ve got to get some of these fabrics.



Quilt kits are available from Heartbeat Quilts. I was told by the people at Heartbeat Quilts last week that the kits are rather popular – of course, that just sent me into the clouds! This quilt, along with Poinsettia Fiesta, will be displayed shortly at Heartbeat Quilts in Hyannis, MA until early Jan 2011.


I set out to imitate the big girls’ (the longarmers) quilting using my little home domestic machine and quilted holly and berries all over the quilt. It was a bit of a challenge because with my domestic machine, there was only so much space I could see around my needle for a rather widespread motif. One of these days, maybe I will get myself a longarm… but for now, here are some snapshots of the quilting. I used Aurifil‘s Mako 50 Cotton over Hobbs‘ Tuscany Silk Batt. You may read about my take on Aurifil’s thread here, and Hobbs’ Silk Batt here.

This concludes the series of quilts I did for The Quilter this year. It’s hard to believe a year is almost over. I have had the greatest time working with the wonderful people at The Quilter. I will do a recap post of all my quilts in The Quilter for 2010 in the near future. Stay tuned!


26 thoughts on “Holiday Spinners in THE QUILTER’S HOLIDAY ISSUE

  1. Just beautiful Wendy! Congrats for being featured. Well, this is another one of yours to add to my ever-growing list! One of these days… one of these days… sigh…

    Have a wonderful week, and thank you for sharing. ~Karen

  2. Another beautiful quilt–congratulations.

    You have had an amazing year–and we your readers are in awe of what you do. The overall quilting you do with a domestic machine is fabulous/unbelievable! I’m hoping you don’t buy a longarm as I am selfish and want you to keep teaching/inspiring us domestic quilters, but if you do, you will give the best of them competition they have yet to see.

  3. Wendy, your spinner quilt is lovely and you did a beautiful job on the quilting with your little home machine. Do you really think it would be better with a long arm? I think it looks just as good as if you had used a long arm machine on it. You certainly have the free motion quilting mastered.

  4. Pingback: Christmas Quilt Show 2010 « IVORY SPRING

  5. Pingback: Kathy’s verions of Poinsettia Fiesta « IVORY SPRING

  6. Pingback: Giveaway: Hobbs Tuscany Silk Batting « IVORY SPRING

  7. Pingback: Thread Talk from My Sewing Machine #18 « Ivory Spring

  8. Pingback: Virtual Trunk Show #1: STARS « Ivory Spring

  9. Pingback: Virtual Trunk Show #3: Christmas! « Ivory Spring

  10. Pingback: Virtual Trunk Show: Pinwheels! « Ivory Spring

  11. Pingback: I am starting something new… | Ivory Spring

Leave a Reply

