Christmas Fiesta in THE QUILTER’S HOLIDAY ISSUE


Okay, I have a suspicion that Christmas is barely on your radar screen (or is it?)…. but The Quilter‘s “Quilting for Christmas” is hitting the newsstands on October 12th.  My Christmas Fiesta is featured:


This quilt uses fabrics from At Home for the Holidays and Hip Holidays by Henry Glass.  These fresh color palette gives a very cherry and slightly different look to the traditional Christmas green and red colors.  And I love the effect.

See what I mean?

This 36″ x 36″ wallhanging/table topper was fun to put together.

What was even MORE fun was quilting it!  I used Hobbs‘ Tuscany Silk Batting and Aurifil‘s Mako 50 Cotton threads.  Again, I quilted this quilt on my domestic machine.  The feathers were “hyper-quilted” with green and white threads.

You may purchase a kit (includes fabrics, backing and binding) for this project from Heartbeat Quilts.  Oh, by the way, the quilt will also be displayed at Heartbeat Quilts.  So, if you are in the vicinity of Hyannis, MA – do drop by the say hi to the staff and my Poinsettia Fiesta quilt. :)

Poinsettias are one of my favorite Christmasy things to include in my Christmas decorations.  What is/are yours?

Thanks for stopping by.  I am slowly working on responding to your emails/comments in the reverse order they are received.  Have a lovely day!

23 thoughts on “Christmas Fiesta in THE QUILTER’S HOLIDAY ISSUE

  1. Each pattern you post is more adorable than the one before. I guess I need to get a subscription to all of the quilt magazines you submit to. Thanks for another great pattern.

  2. I love poinsettias are one of my favorite things to display during the holiday season. But I don’t limit myself there. I love to use anything with color. It just brightens up the house.

  3. Pingback: Holiday Spinners in THE QUILTER’S HOLIDAY ISSUE « IVORY SPRING

  4. Pingback: Christmas Quilt Show 2010 « IVORY SPRING

  5. Pingback: Kathy’s verions of Poinsettia Fiesta « IVORY SPRING

  6. Pingback: Giveaway: Hobbs Tuscany Silk Batting « IVORY SPRING

  7. Wendy, your poinsettia quilt is beautiful…my favorite part is your quilting designs!

    I was looking at your Through the Eye of the Needle pillow from 2008. One of the pictures shows a pattern that almost looks like you have used a heavier thread to outline. Is it heavier thread or did you just restitch the lines? Its a beautiful look and I’d love to copy you!

    Have a blessed Christmas!

    • Hi Susan,

      That heavier thread is Isacord Embroidery thread, probably stitched over twice/thrice per the thread sequence of the embroidery design.

      Thanks for visiting and writing so that I can write you back. :)

      Merry Christmas to you and yours.

      Wendy

  8. Pingback: Virtual Trunk Show #3: Christmas! « Ivory Spring

  9. Pingback: Donna’s Poinsettia Quilt « Ivory Spring

  10. I love poinsettias and make something with them for my kids. I can’t give real ones as they both have pets. I hope I get the magazine as I want to make.

Leave a Reply

