Marabella in THE QUILTER (July 2010)

I decided to show my Marabella quilt for Amy’s Quilt Festival. It’s probably my favorite quilt among all the spring quilts I have made. I have made quite a few quilts since Marabella, but they are not back from the editors yet… so, Marabella it is.

Marabella is one of my latest featured quilts. Pattern for this quilt is found in the July 2010 issue of The Quilter.

The quilt is now displayed at Rogers Sewing Center.

This quilt turned out sooooo sweet! Red and purple make quite an eye-catching color combination, don’t they?

Here are some quilting close-ups for you. The quilting is done over Hobbs’ Tuscany Wool batt, and Aurifil Mako 50 Cotton thread (#2310 top and bottom) – one of my favorite “ingredient combination” when it comes to quilting on my home machine:

Fabrics are from Henry Glass‘ Marabella collection:

Thank you for stopping by. I am going to enjoy the rest of this spring season. I hope you are too!

Thanks for stopping by. Have fun admiring the other quilts featured in Amy’s Quilt Festival!


79 thoughts on “Marabella in THE QUILTER (July 2010)

  1. Wendy thats a beautiful quilt. Quilting as always is fantastic, as is your photography. I really do love the colours that go into your quilts . Great work!

  2. What a gorgeous quilt. Congratulations! I don’t know how you change to no reply but Sue (www.suedio.wordpress.com) has just done it and I am sure if you left her a comment, she would gladly tell you how to do it. Just tell her I sent you.

  3. How caould I say ??? FANTASTICO as we Italians say! Just Fantastic and so sweet !!! Really something gorgeous, Wendy !
    Must come to Tx and get some classes from U !!!
    Bravo, again ciao Gloria

  4. Looks like another project for me! This is a darling quilt ! Keep creating , you do such an amazing job!!!!!!

  5. WOW! This is very pretty! Thanks for sharing your life everyday. I’m so glad that we are still in touch .. :) now, i’m even more thankful for this “connection” that we have! :) i miss you alot!

  6. Oh my! but this is absolutely delectable. Everything about this quilt is beautiful!!! So, so pretty. These fabrics are delightful but it’s the way they’re all pulled together and worked with gentle stitches. Oh my! What a treat over morning coffee!

  7. Your quilting is stunning, as always. I wish I had your skills. How do you do such beautiful work on your sewing machine? Do you have any tips you can share with your followers?

  8. Okay quilt is TOTALLY awesome! You have convinced and completely inspired me to try appliques on my quilts :). Thanks for sharing and continue with the awesome art you do.

  9. Another beautiful quilt — don’t you ever make anything ugly? :-) I love your fabric/color combinations, and as usual your machine quilting is breathtaking. I’m intrigued by the wool batting and Aurafil thread. I have wanted to try a wool or silk batting, but would the finished quilt still be machine washable or would it have to be dry-clean only? And is the Aurafil thread you’re using made specifically for machine quilting, or is it an all-purpose or embroidery thread? I used YLI machine quilting thread last time (for grid quilting with a walking foot and using the Keryn Emmerson digitized quilting designs with my embroidery module). What are the benefits you get from your thread and batting combo?

    By the way, you have inspired me — the BSR foot is attached to my machine and I’m going to sit down and practice with it TODAY as long as I manage to get my work done before the kids get home from school.

    Thanks again for sharing.

  10. I can only find one work to describe your quilt, “stunning”. Love everything about it. Thank you for sharing. Take care:)

  11. Wendy, I really like this quilt also. The fabric line is not really what I usually turn to but in that quilt it is great. I’m going to have to run out and purchase that magazine and the fabric so it is waiting when I finish some of my other projects. Thanks for such great quilts and a great web site.

  12. Your Marabella quilt is amazing. AMAZING!!! Be. U. Ti. Ful!!

    Thank you for the nice comment on my blog! My blog is acting up today. I’m not getting emails of the comments… and to make matters worse… I accidently deleted yours when I was deleting my spam. I love that you want to make my lantern quilts and that if sings to your heritage! You made my day!! xomo

  13. That is a really beautiful quilt. I love the little ribbon ties and the photography of your quilt is really well done, too!

  14. I came … and stayed awhile. Wow! Half the day is gone. Of course, I wandered into other realms also.

    Looking forward to making this quilt. It is fantastic.

  15. Wendy, I adore your little Spring quilt and must get the magazine for the pattern!! So sweet!
    You contacted me to be “friends” on facebook, but I somehow lost you in the fluff…I’ll try to pick you up again.
    Have a great week.
    Hugs,
    Deb

  16. Sheesh! That quilting is fantabulous!!! (That’s not a word, i know, but i couldn’t think of a better word!) The colours are lovely, as ia the pattern… KEEP ON QUILTING!!! (l)

  17. what a sweet, springy quilt! those blocks with the applique and ribbons are just wonderful. thanks so much for sharing. come visit me–i’m having a little giveaway this week

  18. Wendy, I’m coming up for air, and oh, how I love this quilt! Just when I think I’ve seen my favorite, you show us something like this! It is GORGEOUS. I love the colors and the design. I’m amazed at how industrious you are. You have got to be the champion quilter of all time. How many hours does something like this take? I’m so impressed with your work, and you never cease to amaze me with your talents and how you use them. GREAT JOB!

    XO,

    Sheila

  19. I really love your quilt. The colors and the applique blocks – especially the touch of the ribbon added. I don’t think you can go wrong with applique.

  20. This quilt is just so sweet – I absolutely love the bows – a fabulous touch. I never would have thought, but the red and purple are a great duo! Love the quilt too o:)

  21. Pingback: Blogger’s Quilt Festival – Spring 2010 » Amy's Creative Side

  22. Pingback: Baby’s elastic sundress – Part 1 « IVORY SPRING

  23. Pingback: Thread Talk from My Sewing Machine #47 | Ivory Spring

Leave a Reply

